HENNEPIN COUNTY

MINNESOTA

Race Equity Advisory Council Meeting

Meeeting notes

Date: October 15, 2020 Time: 6:00 pm to 8:00 pm Location: MS Teams

In attendance:

Council members: Biiftuu Ibrahim Adam, Debjyoti Dwivedy, Deran Cadotte, Farhia Mohamed, Johnathon McClellan, Isaak Rooble, Lissa Jones-Lofgren Larry Hiscock, Latasha Jennings, Marisol Rosado-Carrisalez, Mahogany Ellis Crutchfield, Sheila Webb, Tekia Jefferson

Not present: Mukul Natyal, Paul Beshah

County Staff: Amy Schrempp, Chester Cooper, David Lawless, Mercy Das, Patricia Zagaros, Randy Larson, Robert Gruba, Steve Voeller.

- 1) October Meeting Agenda approved. Larry Hiscock moved to approve the agenda, seconded by Lissa Jones-Lofgren. 12 ayes, 0 nays.
- 2) September Meeting notes approved Deran Cadotte moved to approve the minutes, Lissa Jones-Lofgren seconded. 12 ayes, 0 nays.
- 3) Hennepin County Budget and Finance process presented by Dave Lawless, Director, Hennepin County Office of Budget and Finance. (PPT and Contracts report in Basecamp)
- 4) Introduction to Race Equity Impact Tool (REIT) and domain priorities—Amy Schrempp, Disparity Reduction Manager and Mercy Das, Disparity Reduction Coordinator (PPT in Basecamp)
- 5) Announcements
 - Report to the board—format and date will be discussed at next meeting
 - Membership—no one indicated wish to leave
 - Watch disparity reduction board briefings (links in Basecamp)
 - Topics for Housing Domain presentation at November meeting
 - Domain interests –survey monkey in basecamp
 - Council Input into County Climate Action plan
 - DD and Deran will review board presentation and decide how to move forward.
 - Council input into County report on racism as a public health crisis
 - Farhia and Latasha will co-chair subcommittee. Other members: Larry, Lissa, Mahogany, Sheila, Tekia.
 - Rob Gruba: Teams Live and possibilities for open meeting
 - State of the County on Ocotber 28th all members invited attend. Link will be on Basecamp.



- 6) Stipend of \$40 for monthly meetings and \$20 for committee and subcommittee meetings where there are at least 2 members was approved.
 - Lissa Jones-Lofgran moved to approve the motion, Deran Cadotte seconded. 10 ayes, 0 nays. Anyone who doesn't want a stipend, inform Mercy.
- 7) Meeting Adjourned on motion by Lissa Jones Lofgram, seconded by Johnathon McClellan. 10 ayes. 0 nays