## A Resolution Regarding the Hennepin County Marshall St Reconstruction Project

Date: May 19, 2025

Motion: Moved by: Seth Stattmiller Seconded by: Billy Binder

WHEREAS; Hennepin County will be reconstructing Marshall Street NE (CSAH 23) from Lowry Avenue (CSAH 153) to 3<sup>rd</sup> Avenue NE in 2027; and,

WHEREAS; Northeast Minneapolis does not have continuous parkways along the Mississippi River; and,

WHEREAS; The Minneapolis Board of Park Commissioners along with residents of Northeast and North Minneapolis established the "River First" initiative for a shared vision to add greenspace and an uninterrupted loop with a two-way bikeway and separated pedestrian walkways along both sides of the Mississippi River between Plymouth Avenue/8th Street NE and Lowry Avenue; and

WHEREAS; Hennepin County is working in partnership with the Minneapolis Board of Park Commissioners and residents of Northeast Minneapolis to make the reconstruction of Marshall Street Northeast compatible with the river first vision; and,

WHEREAS; The best layout to make this vision possible for Northeast Minneapolis residents and the Park Board is to maintain on-street parking on only one side of Marshall Street and to create a roadway experience that is Minneapolis Parkway-like in nature;

WHEREAS; The Hennepin County Active Transportation Committee (ATC) has reviewed the project and discussed its merits with County staff;

## NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED;

The Hennepin County Active Transportation Committee supports the Marshall Street NE roadway reconstruction project concept alternatives that include a dedicated two-way bike facility at sidewalk level on the west side (river side) of the roadway next to a sidewalk facility. The ATC asks that roadway crossing distance be reduced to match Minneapolis Park Board river parkway standards of no more than two lanes at all



intersections by adding bumpouts or refuge medians. The ATC supports the concept alternatives that have on-street parking on only one side of the roadway.

## Hennepin County Active Transportation Committee:

Tammy McLemore – District 1	Absent	Larissa Lavrov – District 4	Absent
Nicole Armstrong – District 1	Absent	Henrik Kowalkowski – Dist. 5	Aye
Seth Stattmiller – District 2	Aye	Lou Dzierzak – District 5	Absent
Billy Binder – District 2	Aye	Luke Van Santen – District 6	Aye
Dave Carlson – District 3	Aye	Anne Vogel – District 6	Aye
Ethan Kleinbaum – District 3	Aye	Greg Anderson – District 7	Absent
Haley Foydel – District 4	Absent	Clara Sandberg – District 7	Absent