A Resolution supporting Three Rivers Park District efforts to apply for funding in the 2024 Rebuilding America Infrastructure with Sustainability and Equity (RAISE) grant program

Date: January 22, 2024

Motion: Moved by: Tammy Mclemore Seconded by: Jenny Ackerson

WHEREAS; The Federal Rebuilding America Infrastructure with Sustainability and Equity (RAISE) program released the 2024 application for to apply for federal grant funding to construct multi-use trails and bicycle facilities; and,

WHEREAS; Three Rivers Park District intends to submit an application for federal grant funding for construction of the Mississippi River Trail (MRT) in Hennepin County; and,

WHEREAS; The project includes:

- Constructing 3.5 miles of the Mississippi River Trail (West Mississippi River Regional Trail) within the City of Champlin
- Include a new roundabout at Winnetka Avenue (CSAH 103) and West River Road (CSAH 12)
- Improve 18 intersections with turn and bypass lane modifications

WHEREAS; These projects are consistent with the 2040 Hennepin County Bicycle Transportation Plan; Pedestrian Plan; Complete and Green Streets Policy; Climate Action Plan; and,

WHEREAS; Physically separated trails and bicycle facilities provide greater safety and comfort for people riding bikes, walking and rolling; and,

WHEREAS, trails connecting as directly as possible to destinations are recognized as preferable; and,

WHEREAS; The Hennepin County Active Transportation Committee (ATC) has reviewed the proposed application efforts and discussed its merits with County staff;



NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED;

The Hennepin County Active Transportation Committee supports Three Rivers Park District in efforts to secure federal funds through the 2024 Rebuilding America Infrastructure with Sustainability and Equity (RAISE) grant program.

Hennepin County Active Transportation Committee:

Tammy McLemore – District 1	aye	Larissa Lavrov – District 4	absent
Gilbert Odonkor – District 1	absent	vacant – District 5	
Jenny Ackerson – District 2	aye	Lou Dzierzak – District 5	aye
Billy Binder – District 2	aye	Luke Van Santen – District 6	aye
Dave Carlson – District 3	aye	Lou Miranda – District 6	aye
Laura Groenjes Mitchell – District 3	aye	Greg Anderson – District 7	absent
Haley Foydel – District 4	aye	vacant – District 7	

RESOLUTION ADOPTED

Jordan Kocak, Hennepin County Pedestrian & Bicycle Coordinator