## A Resolution regarding the MnDOT University Avenue and Fourth Street Project

Date: December 18, 2023

Motion: Moved by: Luke Van Santen Seconded by: Billy Binder

WHEREAS; As part of a roadway repaving project MnDOT will be adding separated bike lanes to University Avenue and Fourth Street SE in Minneapolis between 35W and Central Avenue; and,

WHEREAS; MnDOT seeks to select a preferred concept alternative; and,

WHEREAS; The concepts under consideration include one option with directional onstreet separated bike lanes and one option with directional off-street/ sidewalk level separated bike lanes; and,

WHEREAS; the Hennepin ATC considers an uninterrupted two-way separated bikeway extending from Oak St on the east to Central Ave on the west being the preferred option; and,

WHEREAS; the current proposed one-way bikeway along University Ave does not address the volume of riders or existing and planned two-way bicycle connections on either end of the project limits; and,

WHEREAS; The Hennepin County Active Transportation Committee (ATC) has reviewed the proposed project concepts and discussed its merits with County and MnDOT staff;



## NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED;

The Hennepin County Active Transportation Committee supports two-way separated bike lanes on University Ave and one-way on-street separated bike lane on 4<sup>th</sup> St. The ATC asks MnDOT to include a two-way separated bike lane on University Ave as an alternative in the concept development process. This design supports continuity between MnDOT and Hennepin County's projects, clear separation from motor vehicles and for the safety and comfort of people walking, biking and rolling.

## Hennepin County Active Transportation Committee:

| Tammy McLemore – District 1          | Aye     | Larissa Lavrov – District 4    | Aye    |
|--------------------------------------|---------|--------------------------------|--------|
| Gilbert Odonkor – District 1         | Aye     | Courtney Costigan – District 5 | Aye    |
| Jenny Ackerson – District 2          | Aye     | Lou Dzierzak – District 5      | Aye    |
| Billy Binder – District 2            | Aye     | Luke Van Santen – District 6   | Aye    |
| Dave Carlson – District 3            | Abstain | Lou Miranda – District 6       | Aye    |
| Laura Groenjes Mitchell – District 3 | Aye     | Greg Anderson – District 7     | Nay    |
| Haley Foydel – District 4            | Aye     | Lee Newman – District 7        | Absent |

**RESOLUTION ADOPTED** 

Attest: Joulan Kocak, Hennepin County Pedestrian & Bicycle Coordinator