

Emergency Medical Services Council

Health Services Building – MC L963 525 Portland Avenue South Minneapolis, MN 55415-1569 <u>chd.ems@co.hennepin.mn.us</u>



Executive Committee Monday, Sept. 9, 2024, 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. online

https://www.hennepin.us/business/work-with-henn-co/ems-planning-reg

Draft Summary

| | Present | Absent |
|--------|-----------------------------------|-------------------------------------|
| 1. | Susan Long, NRP, | |
| | EMS Council Chair | |
| 2. | Peter Tanghe, MD, | |
| | EMS Medical Directors | |
| | Committee Chair | |
| 3. | Tony Martin, | |
| | Operations Committee Chair | |
| 4. | Nick Simpson, MD, | |
| | Medical Standards Committee Chair | |
| 5. | Mike Morelock, | |
| | Quality Standards Committee Chair | |
| | | |
| Guests | | Staff |
| | | Kristin Mellstrom, HC Public Health |

- 1. The meeting was called to order by EMS Council Chair Susan Long at 1:00 p.m., with a quorum assembled.
- 2. The June 10, 2024 meeting summary and today's agenda were approved.

The following nominations were approved unanby the Executive Committee and moved to the EMS Council

Open seats on the EMS Council

Vice Chair of the EMS Council (must be an emergency physician from a hospital or 9-1-1 EMS provider in Hennepin County) Vacant

Hospitals

Allina Health Hospitals (a reg. rep and an alternate, with at least one being an emergency physician) Regular Representative: Megan Elsenheimer Plutt, MD Alternate Representative: Steven Dickson

Children's Hospital (Mpls)

Regular Representative: Emma Fisher, MD Alternate Respresentative: David Hirschmann, MD

MHealth Fairview University

Regular Representative: Nik Vuljaj, MD Alternate Respresentative: Drew Zinkel, MD

Hennepin Healthcare HCMC

Regular Representative: Wendy Stulac-Motzel Alternate Respresentative: Gregg Jones, MD

Methodist Hospital

Regular Representative: Jill Donofrio, DO Alternate Respresentative: Megan Grewe

North Memorial Health Hospital

Regular Representative: David Schmoyer Alternate Respresentative: Marc Conterato, MD

Ridgeview Medical Center

Regular Representative: Matt Herold, MD Alternate Respresentative: vacant

EMS Providers (9-1-1 licensed providers in Hennepin County; one nomination for an EMS Medical Director and one nomination for an Administrator) Allina Health EMS EMS Med Director: Joey Duren, MD Administrator: Kevin Miller

Edina Fire EMS

EMS Med Director: Paul Nystrom, MD (sent by Andrew Slama) Administrator: Shaun White Hennepin EMS EMS Med Director: Nick Simpson, MD Administrator: Marty Scheerer

North Memorial Health Ambulance EMS Med Director: Peter Tanghe, MD Administrator: Brent Custard

Ridgeview Ambulance Service EMS Med Director: Kevin Sipprell, MD (sent by Mark Anderson) Administrator: Mark Anderson

Paramedic (employed at a 9-1-1 licensed EMS Provider in Hennepin County) Samuel Erickson, EMT-P (Hennepin EMS)

Ambulance Dispatch Center rep (at a 9-1-1 licensed dispatch center in Hennepin County) Name: North Memorial Ambulance Dispatch-Tama Lynn or designee

Primary PSAP rep (in Hennepin County) Tony Martin - approved in 2024 by Council

Hennepin County Chiefs of Police rep Vacant

Hennepin County Fire Chiefs rep Dale Specken (Hopkins Fire Chief)

Public rep without industry affiliation (either a citizen of Hennepin County or a rep from a Public Health authority in Hennepin County) Cynthia Myntti - approved in 2024 by Council

Hennepin County Director of Public Health Sara Hollie

EMS Council Committees- Open Seats

Medical Care and Standards Committee Communications rep from a 9-1-1 ambulance dispatch center in Hennepin County or West MRCC Dan Klawitter (West MRCC)

Operations and Communications Committee Communications rep from a 9-1-1 ambulance dispatch center in Hennepin County Vacant

- 4. New Business
 - A. Action: Approve EMS Council agenda and 2025 calendar- Approved unanimously
 - B. Find speakers for Oct. 2024 and April 2025 EMS Council meetings Kristin will reach out to Greg Hayes from MESB and Dan Klawitter from West MRCC

about their work to see if either would like to give a presentation in Oct.

5. Old Business – Staff (Kristin)

Kristin reported that Hennepin County Public Health and the County Administrator have a meeting scheduled to discuss the County Board's request for a staffing study and if there will be an effort to collect additional data on financial impact of the 2-medic staffing model.

Public Health will also present the EMS Council's approved performance metrics for stroke and trauma and the EMS Council Bylaws that were revised in 2023 to the County Board of Commissioners for approval on Oct. 29, 2024.

6. Committee Chair Updates

- A. EMS Medical Directors Dr. Pete Tanghe No updates
- B. Medical Standards Dr. Nick Simpson
 The committee has not met in the last quarter.
- C. Operations and Communications Committee Tony Martin The committee is working with hospital partners to update the hospital destination matrix, which is often requested by medics when seeking appropriate dispositions for patients.
- D. Quality Standards Committee Mike Morelock The committee is collecting stroke and trauma performance data based on the metrics approved at the April 11, 2024 EMS Council meeting. The committee will continue to discuss performance scorecards or reports that could be sent to partners to provide updates about EMS performance in the County after at least one year of data is collected.

The committee continues to work on finding one or more statewide data sources that could be used to download performance data. Concerns about data accuracy are a longstanding concern of EMS Providers so more work will be done to assess individual Providers' data to the data in state databases before it can be used for performance monitoring.

7. EMS Council and Committees Standing Meetings

Exec. Committee meetings - online Second Mondays 1:00-2:30p.m. in March, June, Sept. and Dec.

EMS Council meetings - online Second Thursday 3:00-4:30 p.m. in April and Oct *Rescheduled for this fall: First Thursday of October (Oct. 3, 2024) 3:00-4:30pm

8. Adjourn – The meeting adjourned at 1:55 p.m.