# HENNEPIN COUNTY

LIBRARY BOARD

The public is welcome at all library board meetings.

# June 6, 2024, 5:30-7:30p.m.

Ridgedale Library | Room 174 | 12601 Ridgedale Dr. | Minnetonka, MN 55305

# Library Board Agenda

# **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE**

- 1. Welcome and Call to Order
- 2. Attendance
- 3. Approval of Agenda\*
- K
- 4. Approval of April 24, 2024, Meeting Minutes\*
- 5. June 26, 2024, Board Meeting Agenda
- L.
- 6. Adjourn\*

#### Library Board

Jessica Kraft, President | Lynn Stetler, Vice President | Amal Karim, Secretary | Gordy Aune, Jr. | Jane Brissett | Erin Carney | Briana Eicheldinger | Adja Kaba | Randy Klauk | Ashley Krohn | Michael Hogan



# HENNEPIN COUNTY

### LIBRARY BOARD

The public is welcome at all library board meetings.

## **Executive Committee**

#### **Meeting Minutes**

The Hennepin County Library Board met on April 24, 2024, at Ridgedale Library, Robert H. Rohlf Room, 12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka.

#### Attendees

Present: Jane Brissett (Chair), Amal Karim, Lynn Stetler

Other Library Board Members Present: Randy Klauk, Jessica Kraft

**Hennepin County Staff**: Scott Duimstra, J.R. Genett

#### Welcome and Call to Order

Chair Jane Brissett called the Executive Committee meeting of April 24, 2024, to order at 6:00 p.m. and welcomed all in attendance.

#### Attendance of Library Board Members

Library Board Clerk J.R. Genett took the roll call. The Board met the quorum with four members present.

### Approval of Agenda

Motion: Stetler Second: Karim Motion passed.

#### Approval of February 29, 2024, Meeting Summary

Motion: Stetler Second: Karim Motion passed.

## Discussion of Resolution(s) Regarding Public Comment

## Library Board

Jane Brissett, President | Lynn Stetler, Vice President | Amal Karim, Secretary | Gordy Aune, Jr. | Erin Carney | Xaiyo Chang | Briana Eicheldinger | Michael Hogan | Randy Klauk | Jessica Kraft | Ashley Krohn

Library Director

Scott Duimstra



Committee discussed a draft resolution brought forth by Brissett. The draft resolution is based on the Hennepin County Board of Commissioners' existing rules of public participation. Committee discussed how to enforce rules if resolution is adopted, the flexibility of the rules, and how to ensure a variety of topics can be presented during public comment. Committee agreed to present the draft resolution to the Library Board at the May 15, 2024, meeting.

## May 15, 2024, Annual Board Meeting Agenda

Amendments were discussed and made to the draft board meeting agenda. Commissioner Debbie Goettel will engage in a dialogue with the board at the annual meeting, in lieu of the staff dialogue.

#### Adjourn

There being no further business, a motion was made to adjourn the meeting at 6:50 p.m.

Motion: Karim Second: Stetler Motion passed.

Amal Karim, Secretary

## HENNEPIN COUNTY

LIBRARY BOARD

The public is welcome at all library board meetings.

June 26, 5:30-7:30 p.m.

Brooklyn Park Library, Mississippi Meeting Room

# Library Board Agenda

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Attendance of Library Board Members
- \$
- 3. Approval of Agenda\*
- 4. Consent\*
  - A. Approval of Meeting Minutes for May 15, 2024
  - B. Donations
- 5. Dialogue with Commissioner Debbie Goettel
- 6. Public Comment

Those wishing to speak will sign the clipboard at the meeting door before the start of the meeting. Each speaker is allowed up to three minutes, with a maximum total of 15 minutes. Speakers will: state their full name; direct comments solely to the library board members; and speak respectfully. Remarks are limited to topics relevant to Hennepin County Library. The Board does not engage in discussion or debate. Comments will be taken under advisement and may be directed to the Library Director for a response after the meeting.

- 7. Commendations
  - 🚣 A.—Adja K. Kaba, Library Board\*
    - B. Hennepin County Employee Recognition Awards
      - Administrator's Award Disparity Reduction Award
      - Excellence in Leadership Award Innovation Award

Page 1 of 2

#### Library Board

Jessica Kraft, President | Lynn Stetler, Vice President | Amal Karim, Secretary | Gordy Aune, Jr. | Jane Brissett | Erin Carney | Xaiyo Chang | Briana Eicheldinger | Michael Hogan | Randy Klauk | Ashley Krohn

Library Director Scott Duimstra



- 8. Election of Officers\*
  - 9. President's Report
    - A. Announcements
    - B. Dispersal of Funds Update
    - C. Committee Appointments
- 10:-2025 2026 Meeting Schedule\*
  - 11. Director's Report, Scott Duimstra
    - A. Library, Community, and County Updates
  - 12. Library Youth Advisory Board Report
  - 13. Committee Reports
    - A. Executive Committee
    - B. Budget Committee
    - C. Policy Committee
      - I. Lending Policy Collection and Management Policy
      - II. Per Diem & Expense Policy
      - III. Reserving & Using Meeting Rooms Policy
  - 14. Unfinished Business
    - A. Public Comment Time Period
    - B: Resolution Regarding Public Comment
  - 15. New Business
- 16. Adjourn\*
- \*Denotes board action item.